In the event of an accident in Tennessee, all drivers are legally responsible to stop their vehicle, provide necessary information, and remain until the pieces are put together and aid is given to the parties involved. If you have been charged with a hit and run, you are likely unsure of what to expect in court and what you are up against. At Dana McLendon Law, we can help you understand the situation and use our experience to your advantage.
In some hit and run cases, the charge is a mere mistake and was caused through manipulation of the truth. Some cases are the result of an honest mistake or a result of panic after the accident. Regardless of the situation, it is important to get the facts straight and begin building a powerful defense. We need to hear your case from your perspective, so pick up the phone today.
What Am I Required to Do After Being Involved in an Accident?
All you know is that you cannot “leave the scene” of an accident, but what does this actually mean that you must do and cannot do? First of all, when you stop at the scene of the accident you were involved in, make sure that your vehicle is not in the way of traffic. If you or any of the other parties is injured, get medical attention. If necessary, call 911 to get medical attention.
The three basic rules to avoid a legal charge are:
- Stop as soon as possible and return to the location where the crash occurred
- Exchange information with other drivers
- Stay at the scene until the police show up
Further information can be found by reading the actual statute: TN Code § 55-10-101.
What Type of Penalties to Expect
If convicted for leaving the scene of an accident, the penalties will mainly depend on the severity of your crash. Your license will be revoked for a time regardless of the situation. In cases that only involve property damage, you can be looking at around 30 days in jail with an additional fine. When more than $400 in damage occurs, your license will be suspended.
If the accident results in physical injury or death of another person and you have been charged with a hit and run, you can be faced with a Class A misdemeanor. The potential penalty would be up to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
Building a Powerful Defense for a Hit and Run Charge in Tennessee
You can take comfort in knowing that there are possible defenses to a hit and run charge. Whether the prosecutors have overcharged your crime or you left the accident by mistake or out of panic, we can assess the situation and develop a logical defense from there. You need someone who is on your side and who can clearly articulate the situation.
You will want to get the help of a legal counselor who can protect your rights and fight on your behalf. When you work with our law firm, you will not be passed off to an assistant or paralegal. Attorney Dana McLendon will personally work by your side and pursue the best possible result on your behalf.